top of page
  • Writer's pictureuclatransfercenter

Check out Transfer Elektra Mirzakhanian

Student Elektra Mirzakhanian transferred from Pasadena City College. She is currently majoring in Philosophy. Elektra is a commuter and shares why she chose UCLA and what she is currently doing at UCLA!


A: My transfer story is unique because ever since I was young UCLA has always my dream school and coincidentally enough it was the ONLY school that I was accepted into. UCLA was the last decision to come out when I was transferring and I had a gut feeling that I was probably going to be rejected. I opened the portal not knowing that I was literally being given the chance to make all of my dreams come true. I chose UCLA because it was my one-way ticket to success and it fit perfectly with where I wanted my educational career to go. Higher education is important to me because I believe that education is the key to success and something that no one can take away from you or discount you for, it also will act as a stepping stone into the career you aspire to obtain. The other day when I attended a Harvard Law School reception, one of the alumni said, "I don't do brand name clothes, only brand name schools" and I really live by that! #gobruins


"Currently on campus, I am the Internal Relations Director for the Pre-Law Society, Internship director for the USAC TSR office, and I serve as a Legislative Advocate at the Office of the External Vice President's office. My main duties at the EVP office is conducting research on legislation that address campus climate issues which are prevalent to UCLA's undergraduate student association. During my time as a legislative advocate, I had the opportunity to advocate for students concerns with congressional staffers in Washington, D.C. on increasing the accessibility of higher education through financial assistance reforms. I have also had the opportunity to lobby in Sacramento with UCSA, the UC Student Association that represents over 280,000 undergraduate, graduate and professional students for transfer specific issues within the UC system. After I graduate I plan on working in Washington, D.C. and obtaining my masters, then attending law school."

Last comments from Elektra:

"I love UCLA and the transfers that attend this amazing #1 PUBLIC UNIVERSITY!!"


Thank you for sharing your story Elektra!! The transfer community is lucky to have you!

 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page