top of page
  • Writer's pictureuclatransfercenter

Transfer Gabriella Hernandez Shares her Transfer Journey!

Student Gabriella Hernandez transferred from Irvine Valley College and is currently majoring in Political Science.


As a first generation bruin, Gabriella shares her transfer journey:


Gabriella:

"Initially in high school I did everything I could with the hopes of going straight to a four year university after I graduated. After some conversations with my mom I quickly realized I could not afford to go after high school, but looking back I would not change a thing. My community college experience was an amazing one that I feel truly prepared me for the rigor of such a prestigious university like UCLA. I was able to develop valuable skills to help me navigate many aspects of university life and academics which ultimately made me confident about succeeding at UCLA. Saving money and learning how to balance school, work, and personal life is also something beneficial about being a transfer student in particular because I feel that being at a community college gives you the more flexibility to go at your own pace and truly figure out what is right for you before transferring to a university."


"I chose UCLA because of the balance I know I'd have as an undergrad with having to work, and stay on top of my academics. I also felt very welcomed and wanted and I attribute that to the large and strong transfer community here. While most universities aren't so accepting of transfers I admired the effort the Transfer Student Center put into our transfer bruin day, something that I didn't see on other campuses when I went to visit. Being a first generation college student higher education is extremely important to me. It represents being able to uplift and represent my family, and allows me to disrupt spaces and provide visibility for folks like me."


Thank you Gabriella! The Transfer Student Center loves supporting transfers like you and prospective future bruins!!

 


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page