top of page
  • Writer's pictureuclatransfercenter

Transfer Arlin Besha Shares her Unique Transfer Story and Why She Chose UCLA!

Student Arlin Besha transferred from Los Angeles Pierce College. She is currently a non-traditional and first-generation student, working toward her Bachelor of Science in Anthropology. Arlin shares her unique transfer story and why she chose UCLA! "UCLA has been my dream school since the day I can remember. I remember when I move to United States five years ago, going to UCLA was one of the wildest dreams I could ever imagine and I felt a connection as soon as I saw the campus. I felt like home and the feeling of belonging to one of the greatest universities in the world was the best satisfaction one can think about. As I continued my education throughout college I knew I had a bigger picture in my head and never thought about the option of quitting because having a higher education is not only about getting a degree but it is about the connection and interactions we make throughout the time we go to school and learn more about the topics we are interested and gain knowledge in the fields we love and be able to give back to our community when we are finished with this journey."


"My family and I moved to the United States about five years ago with the highest hopes and dreams. My goals has always been to get education and gain knowledge and what other place could ever fulfill the goal I had more than UCLA. As I started my journey five years ago at Pierce college in a whole new school system I was not only nervous but with no help and information I started taking classes for two semester until I found what I am passionate about and which fields of studies interests me more. I had one goal as a college student and that was to succeed and get accepted into UCLA and to be able to obtain my goals there. I was lucky enough to get accepted to my number one school and could not ask for more. It felt like a dream coming true and the best gift I could ever be given from dedicating and sacrificing so many things in life. I could see the pride and happiness in my parent's eyes as soon as I shared with them this good news and they were supportive as always. Now that I have started the first quarter as a third year transfer student at UCLA, I can tell this is when people say they feel like home because it could not get any better."


Welcome home Bruin Arlin and thank you for sharing your story with the transfer community!!!



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page